视而不见

财务和更广泛的商业理念最终是人类的努力。存在着优雅的语言、非常精确的工具以捕捉意图,以及在不良后果和寻求贸易平等的数千年法律中,获得追求权利的无穷魅力。事实上,一些最早的写作形式是商业合约

然而,无论是对逻辑、机器或是政府哨兵具有可怕的权限委托,都无能避免人为因素。其中存在加密货币的视而不见。他们大多是脱离人类的现实层面。

人们犯错。人们改变主意。人们并不总是完全理解他们已经同意且参与其中的业务关系。人们被误导和欺骗。当个人和国家层面的情况发生变化,则需要独特的解决方案。为此,大多数合约都包含不可抗力条款

然而,加密货币设法丢弃人们的理解、同情和判断,以换取一个宪法漠不关心的数字评断,而没有考量其公平性或后果。鉴于人类一直以来,并且也会持续地为了自私的目的尝试改变规则,因此,实际上拥有不能被破坏的系统是令人耳目一新的

但是,当用户需要将这些新系统与传统的金融系统相融合时,会发生什么呢?当某人需要居住在这样的人世间,那会怎样呢?例如,土地登记等产权完全属于物质世界。即使标记土地仍然需要一些现任管辖权的承认。

提供另一论点,一条黄金无法移动自身。数字评断可以指挥其行动,但不能在没有使人们适应的情况下强迫执行它。因此,数字分类账可以从现实中摆脱。

因此,协议设计者需要决定在他的加密货币中应该允许多少的人类现实层面。灵活性越强,绝对的忠诚就越少。消费者保护越多,就必须存在越多的机制来提供反转、退款和编辑历史。

本节和下一章的监管涵盖卡尔达诺对这一话题的务实做法。在互操作性方面,有两个广泛的群体来讨论。首先,与传统金融系统(非加密货币世界)的互操作性。第二,与其他加密货币的互操作性。

遗产

金融科技不是由单一标准或通用语言组成。方法、负责转让和结算的实体、业务流程以及涉及会计、转换和价值变动的其他领域都有很大的差异。

仅因为一项技术是优越的,生态系统的其余部分将以某种方式承认失败和升级,这是不合理的建议。例如,许多人仍然使用着从初期发布至今已为期16年的Windows XP。这个令人感伤的事态就如同某人在西元2000年使用着西元1984年发行的Macintosh原始版。

除了消费者行为外,企业的升级周期通常更慢。许多银行仍然使用Cobol撰写的后端。一旦知道基础架构是可运行的,并且满足业务需求,那么为了超出合规和安全疑虑的消费者利益,进行升级或改进软件和协议的动机通常是很小的。

对于卡尔达诺来说,我们首先要建立什么是一座传统的桥梁需要涉及的?我们应确定哪些系统、标准、实体和协议,以确保互操作性的合理确定性?这些桥梁可以联合还是分散?或者像交易所一样,它们是否将成为黑客、恶意持有者或过度监管者的中心点?

有三项疑虑需要解决。首先,信息的表达并且相信其准确性。其次,价值的代表及其相关所有权。第三,实体的代表,以及特定用户与这些实体的总体信任水平。

为了实现有用性,信息和价值需要在传统金融世界和卡尔达诺之间自由地流动。然后,其结果是需要被建立和记录的,以构建正当理由和信誉的依赖。然而,这样的事宜自然地广泛涉及其参与者。将它们编码在区块链上,将使它们成具有全球性和永久性。

然而,传统世界的价值并不总是自由流动。禁运、制裁、资本管制和司法行动可能冻结资产。为了可互操作性,没有人可以创造一个永远的放出阀来泄漏价值。

最后,实体的品牌和声誉是商业关系的基石之一。每年花费数十亿美元用于建立、维护和维修品牌的营销活动。如果对个人或实体提出上诉、虚假或误导性的要求,则他们可以寻求法律追索权。然而,区块链试图永久保存历史。

像我们选择的编程语言一样,对于卡尔达诺而言,没有理想的解决方案以无所不在的准确性解决这些疑虑。想反,我们必须再次屈服于被支持的意见。

关于信息流动,该流动被称为可信数据馈送。它有一个来源和内容。消息来源有一些可信度和促使欺骗或保持诚实的动机。内容可被任意编码。

鉴于我们打算在协议栈中支持受信任的硬件,因此我们选择为Ari Juel等人的”城市公告协议“探索添加支援。假设这理存在一组可靠的数据源,城市公告允许安全地撷取网页内容以用于智能合约和其他应用程序。

Emurgo,IOHK和卡尔达诺基金会将提供引导程序来源的列表。之后,该列表单将被一个社区策划名单所取代,该个名单使用了卡尔达诺资金系统的机制。我们的希望是,声誉系统可以实现良好的数据馈送,从而创建一个积极的反馈回路,逐步提高可靠性和忠实度。

价值的表现是一个更复杂的话题。不同于信息,- 一旦建立了真实性、及时性和完整性,协议可以用可靠性和确定性的方式呈现 - 而价值确更加细腻。

一旦标记化,价值应该像是一个个唯一的对象。信息可以复制和传递,但是表示所有权(例如车辆号牌)的标记不能在两个不同的分类帐上复制和交易。这一行为将显著地破坏系统的完整性。

在处理标记化价值时,遗留互操作性的挑战是信任假设、可靠性和可审计性,这些随着分类帐之间的流动而发生变化。例如,如果鲍勃拥有一些比特币,然后将其存入交易所,那么鲍勃现在即是将他的比特币兑换成交易所的分类帐。在MtGOX的情况下,他们的分类帐不符合现实,导致用户失去了一切。

对于传统系统识别加密货币体系中的令牌的需求,这个问题更佳复杂。如前述,企业在历史上对升级软件和支持新协议有着抵抗性。这种情况使得很难看见明确的解决方案。

对于卡尔达诺而言,我们最佳期许是为用户提供一个选项,为他们的交易附加丰富的元数据,然后等待行业标准出现,以进一步和其融合和挂钩。 Interlerger工作组已经取得了一些进展,像是R3Cev这样的成就和国际授权来升级旧的财务协议。

然而,更大的挑战是定量和定性的价值从遗留系统发送到加密货币的分类帐。例如,如果鲍伯是一个银行的所有者和发行美元支持的令牌,那么他可以随时建立一个桥梁,将他的令牌发送给像卡尔达诺这样的分类帐,以作为用户发行的资产。

虽然卡尔达诺将精确跟踪所有权限,并提供我们所熟悉的所有功能,如时间戳和可审计性,但是没有加密货币可以驱使鲍伯成为一位诚实的银行家。他总是可以选择运行一个部分储备银行,而不是用真正的美元支持他所有的美元令牌。除非美元本身是由数字分类帐记录的令牌,否则这种欺诈是无法检测的25

最后,在线实体的表现是可追溯到互联网初期的典型网络问题。大学、企业、政府部门和任意用户需要在某些时候建立自己的身份。

为此,已经实施了务实而集中的解决方案,如网络公钥基础设施ICANN的DNS系统。鉴于我们享受着现代网络,这些解决方案既可扩展又实用。但是它们并没有实现一个更为商业化的可靠性,诚信和其他元特征的需求,以确定某人是否想要与该实体做生意。

像eBay这样的多边市场主持人已经构建了一个商业模式,提供一些元数据以及框架来完成交易。关于内容、事件和业务的质量判断,通常仅仅受到来自可信来源的在线评级的深刻影响26

与卡尔达诺相关的一部分是声誉集中化的问题。卡尔达诺的目标之一是为发展中国家提供一个金融平台。这一努力的关键之一是与从未遇见的参与者建立信任的能力。

如果单个实体或实体联盟控制谁标记为好坏,而不是源于整个社区实际交互的有机过程,那么这些实体可以任意将任何人视为黑名单。这种权力是违反我们作为一个项目的价值观,并且阻碍将密码学使用于更广泛的领域。

幸运的是,用于投资国库券的相同机制,将资源添加到可信数据馈送的列表和分配协议中,可以重复使用以建立信誉空间。这是一个开放的研究领域,我们希望在更多的基础要素得到建立后,为2018-2019年分散的信誉网络提供覆盖协议。

加密货币互用性

从传统世界转移到分布式数字分类帐,互操作性变得更加简单。每个分类帐具有网络协议、通信标准和关于其一致性算法的安全假设。这些可以容易地被定量。

通过连接到外部网络和翻译其信息建立信息的移动。价值的移动可以通过中继系统原子交叉链交易或通过巧妙的侧链方案来实现。由于没有一个集中运营商,实体的一个代表性对开发商、矿工或其他一些掮客的信任限制更多。

对于卡尔达诺,我们正在整合由Kiayias、Miller和Zindros开发的新侧链协议。它提供了一种非交互式的方式,可以在支持协议的两条链之间安全地移动价值。这种机制将是卡尔达诺结算层和卡尔达诺计算层之间流动的主要途径。

对于其他加密货币,联合桥梁应该随着卡尔达诺的价值和用户基础的增长而成形。为了促进加速增长,卡达达诺结算层支援Plutus的受限版本,用于互操作性脚本。新的交易将在Shelley版中添加,而在稍后发布的卡达达诺结算层专门用于满足这些需求。

代达罗斯的迷宫

互操作性的要点来自全球视野。特定的协议、新的交易类型,评估信任系统和信息动不能仅限于一个关守或用户。相反地​​,他们必须随时可让任何人在没有审查或收费的情况下所使用。

然而,当卡尔达诺不支持用户无法存在的协议、事务或应用程序时,会发生什么?我们是否应该超出范围? 90年代,网络面临着类似的关切。

讽刺意味的是,网络提供了两种可以使用加密货币复制的解决方案。 JavaScript的引入为任何网站提供了可编程性,以增加任意的功能。引入浏览器插件和扩展程序为愿意安装它们的用户添加了自定义功能。这两种方法都给了我们现代网络以及其所有的安全恐怖。

以太坊采用了前一种方法,允许用户在以太坊区块链上的嵌入子协议,如智能合约。卡尔达诺通过卡尔达诺计算层范例支持此功能。但是自定义扩展程序呢?

一个明确的例子将是一个加密货币交易者。想象一下在一个称为Decentralized Marketplace 的分散市场中,支持一套不同的加密货币。一个交易者希望在分散市场上自动化操作运行他的策略。

在一个分散的生态系统中,交易者必须为每个加密货币安装数十个客户端,然后编写定制软件与每个客户端进行沟通,以协调自动交易。如果一个客户端更新,那么它可能会打破定制软件。此外,如果交易者想出售软件怎么办?

从扩展的网络模型中得到启发,如果将各种加密货币的接口拉入网络堆栈,那么交易者的任务将变得更容易。可以建立一个通用接口。安装是一键点击。软件分发可以在Chrome网上商店之后建模。

对于卡尔达诺而言,我们已经决定通过在Electron部署我们的参考钱包的前端,来实验这个范例。它是由Github维护的开源项目,它将Node和Chrome结合在一起。卡尔达诺的Electron建筑称为代达罗斯(Daedalus)。

代达罗斯的第一代27 将如同分层确定性钱包运行,支持许多行业标准的预期会计和安全功能,例如支出密码和BIP39。在下一代的代达罗斯将发展成具有商店、通用集成应用程序编程接口(APIs: Application Programming Interface)和软件开发工具包(SDK: Software Development Kit)。

此关键的创新是易于开发,通过允许程序员使用JavaScript,HTML5和CSS3构建他们的应用程序和一座跨应用程序通信的统一桥梁。复杂的行为,如密码学、管理分布式网络和数据库机制可以被简化出来,从而让开发人员只需关注用户体验和应用程序的核心逻辑。

由于代达罗斯旨在成为一个通用的框架,其路线图和进化有些独立于卡尔达诺。在2017年期间,它们紧密耦合,但之后的卡尔达诺将只是代达罗斯用户使用中的一个应用程序。我们还打算探索非常独特的功能,例如在英特尔SGX上运行独立通用密钥管理服务。

最终,作为协议设计者,我们无法支援所有需求。我们的期许是,代达罗斯提供的灵活性将与卡尔达诺计算层上运行的有效智能合约相结合,该将满足从我们设计决策中所遗留的。我们也希望出现更好的标准来鼓励所有加密货币享受更好的互操作性和安全性。


25: 另一方面,对于数字分类帐,已经提出了保留证据,作为一种保持诚实交换加密货币的聪明方式。

26: 这些评级甚至影响内容本身的创建,请参阅关于Rotten Tomatoes如何影响电影业的这有趣故事

27: daedaluswallet.io已经可以使用

The Grand Myopia

Finance and the broader idea of commerce is ultimately a human endeavor. There exist elegant languages, extremely precise tools to capture intent, and endless mazes of techniques to achieve recourse in the event of bad outcomes as well as thousands of years of laws seeking equity in trade. In fact some of the earliest forms of writing were commercial contracts.

Yet the human element cannot be eschewed regardless of the disintermediation to logic, machines or governmental sentinels entrusted with terrible powers. Therein lies the grand myopia of cryptocurrencies. They are mostly divorced from human reality.

People make mistakes. People change their minds. People do not always fully understand the business relationships they are agreeing to enter. People get misled and defrauded. Circumstances change on an individual and state level that require unique solutions. Belaboring this point, most contracts contain force majeure clauses.

However, cryptocurrencies seek to toss out human understanding, compassion and judgement in exchange for an uncaring digital judge perfectly bound to a constitution without consideration to fairness or outcome. Given that humans have always tried and will continue to attempt to change rules to selfish ends, it is refreshing to actually have a system that cannot be corrupted.

But what happens when a user needs to blend these new systems with traditional financial systems? What happens when one needs to live in the human world? For example, property rights such as land registration live entirely in the physical world. Even tokenizing the land still requires some acknowledgement of the incumbent jurisdiction.

To provide another point, a bar of gold cannot move itself. The digital judge can command its movement, but cannot force it without humans to accommodate. Hence a digital ledger can drift from reality.

Thus a protocol designer needs to decide how much human reality should be permitted in his cryptocurrency. The more flexibility, the less fidelity to the absolute one should expect. The more consumer protection, the more mechanisms have to exist to provide rollbacks, refunds and editing of history.

This section and the next on regulation covers Cardano’s pragmatic approach to the topic. In terms of interoperability, there are two broad groups to discuss. First, interoperability with legacy financial systems (the non-cryptocurrency world). Second, interoperability with other cryptocurrencies.

Legacy

Fintech is not composed of a single standard or even a common language. There is tremendous diversity in approaches, the entities responsible for settlement and clearing, business processes, and other domains involved in the accounting, transformation and movement of value.

It is unreasonable to suggest that, simply because one technology is superior, the rest of the ecosystem will somehow admit defeat and upgrade. For example, many people still use Windows XP 16 years after the initial release. This sad state of affairs is equivalent to someone using the original Macintosh released in 1984 in the year 2000.

Consumer behavior aside, businesses are generally even slower in their upgrade cycle. Many banks still use back ends written in Cobol. Once infrastructure is known to work and meets business requirements, there is usually little incentive to upgrade or refine software and protocols for a consumer’s benefit outside of compliance or security concerns.

For Cardano, we first have to establish what would a legacy bridge even entail? What systems, standards, entities and protocols should we target to ensure there is a reasonable certainty of interoperability? Can these bridges be federated or decentralized? Or like exchanges will they become central points of failure for hackers, malicious owners or overzealous regulators?

There are three concerns that have to be addressed. First, the representation of information and belief in its accuracy. Second, representation of value and its associated ownership. Third, representation of entities and, a particular user’s alongside the aggregate level of trust in such entities.

To be useful, information and value need to freely flow between the legacy financial world and Cardano. Then outcomes need to be established and recorded to build reputation and grounds for recourse. Yet such things are mostly scoped in nature to the actors involved. To encode them on a blockchain would make them global and permanent.

Furthermore, value cannot always freely flow in the legacy world. Embargos, sanctions, capital controls and judicial action could freeze assets. To be interoperable, one cannot create an always open escape valve for value to leak.

Finally, the brand and reputation of entities is one of the cornerstones of commercial relationships. Billions of dollars are spent yearly on marketing campaigns to establish, maintain and repair brands. If libelous, false or misleading claims are made about a person or entity, then they have the right to seek legal recourse. Yet blockchains attempt to permanently preserve history.

Like our choice of programming language, there is no ideal solution for Cardano to resolve these concerns in a ubiquitously correct way. Rather, we have to yield to supported opinion again.

With respect to the flow of information, this flow is known as a trusted data feed. It has a source and content. Sources have some notion of credibility and incentive to deceive or maintain honesty. Content can be arbitrarily encoded.

Given that we intend on supporting trusted hardware in our protocol stack, we have chosen to explore adding support for Professor Ari Juel et al.’s Town Crier Protocol. Assuming the existence of a credible set of data sources, Town Crier permits the secure scraping of web content for use in smart contracts and other applications.

A bootstrap list of sources will be provided by Emurgo, IOHK and the Cardano Foundation. Later this list will be replaced by a community curated list using mechanics derived from Cardano’s treasury system. Our hope is that a reputation system can materialize around good data feeds, thereby creating a positive feedback loop to gradually improve reliability and fidelity.

The representation of value is a more complex topic. Unlike information — where once the veracity, timeliness and completeness are established, protocols can behave in a reliable and deterministic way — value is more delicate.

Once tokenized, value should behave like a unique object. Information can be copied and passed around, but a token representing ownership of something (say a vehicle title) cannot be cloned and traded on two different ledgers. This act would effectively destroy the integrity of the system.

The challenge in legacy interoperability when dealing with tokenized value is that trust assumptions, reliability and auditability change as tokens flow between ledgers. For example, if Bob owns some Bitcoin and then deposits them on an exchange, then Bob now has the exchange’s representation of his Bitcoin on their ledger. In the case of MtGOX, their ledger did not conform to reality, causing the users to lose everything.

The problem is further complicated by the need for legacy systems to recognize tokens living in a cryptocurrency. As mentioned previously, businesses are historically resistant to upgrading their software and supporting new protocols. This situation makes it difficult to see a clear solution.

For Cardano, our best hope is to provide an option for users to attach a rich supply of metadata to their transactions and then wait for industry standards to emerge to hook into. Some progress has been made with the Interledger workgroup, efforts like R3Cev and international mandates to upgrade old financial protocols.

However, the larger challenge remains of quantifying and qualifying value sent from a legacy system to a cryptocurrency ledger. For example if Bob is a bank owner and issues a dollar backed token, then he can always build a bridge to send his tokens to a ledger like Cardano as a user issued asset.

While Cardano would track ownership precisely and provide all the features we have come to love such as timestamping and auditability, no cryptocurrency can make Bob an honest banker. He always has the option of running a fractional reserve bank by not backing all of his dollar tokens with real dollars. This fraud cannot be detected by a cryptocurrency unless the dollar itself was a token accounted by a digital ledger25.

Finally, the representation of entities online is a classical network problem dating back to early days of the internet. Universities, businesses, government departments and any arbitrary users need to establish their identity at some point.

To this end, pragmatic yet centralized solutions like the web’s Public Key Infrastructure and ICANN’s DNS system have been implemented. Given that we enjoy the modern web, these solutions are both scalable and practical. But they do not answer a more commercially oriented question of reliability, trustworthiness and other meta characteristics necessary for determining if one wants to do business with the entity.

Multi-sided marketplace hosts like eBay have constructed a business model on providing some of this metadata alongside a framework to complete transactions. Judgements about the quality of content, events and businesses are often deeply influenced solely by online ratings from trusted sources26.

The part of this point relevant to Cardano is a question of centralization of reputation. One of our goals for Cardano is to provide a financial stack for the developing world. A key to this effort is the ability to establish trust with actors one has never met.

If a single entity or a consortium of entities control who is labeled good or bad, not an organic process derived from actual interactions in the community as a whole, then these entities could arbitrarily blacklist anyone for any perceived sin. This power is against our values as a project and defeats the broader point of using a cryptocurrency.

Fortunately, the same mechanisms used in voting for treasury ballots, adding sources to a list of trusted data feeds and forking a protocol can be reused to establish a reputation space. It is an open area of research and our hope is to provide an overlay protocol for a decentralized reputation web of trust in 2018-2019 after more foundational elements have been settled.

Cryptocurrency Interoperability

Moving from the legacy world to distributed digital ledgers, interoperability becomes far simpler. Each ledger has a network protocol, standards of communication and security assumptions about its respective consensus algorithm. These in turn can be easily quantified.

Movement of information is established by connecting to the foreign network and translating its messages. Movement of value can be done through a relay system, atomic cross chain trading or through a clever sidechains scheme. As there is not a centralized operator, one representation of entities restricts more to a metadiscussion of trust in developers, miners or some other powerbroker.

For Cardano, we are integrating a new sidechain protocol developed by Kiayias, Miller and Zindros. It provides a non-interactive way of safely moving value between two chains that support the protocol. This mechanism will be the primary way value will flow between CSL and a CCL layer.

For other cryptocurrencies, federated bridges should form as Cardano grows in value and user base. To help accelerate this growth, Cardano SL supports a restricted version of Plutus for interoperability scripts. New transactions will be added in the Shelley and later releases of CSL specifically to address these needs.

The Maze of Daedalus

The points on interoperability come from a global perspective. Specialized protocols, new transaction types, systems to assess credibility and the flow of information cannot be scoped to just a single gatekeeper or user. Rather they must be readily available to anyone without censorship or tolls.

Yet what happens when Cardano does not support a protocol, transaction or application that a user cannot live without? Should we just be out of scope? The web faced a similar concern during the 1990s.

Ironically, the web provides two different solutions that can be replicated with cryptocurrencies. The introduction of JavaScript provided programmability to any website to add arbitrary features. The introduction of browser plugins and extensions added custom capabilities for users willing to install them. Both approaches gave us the modern web alongside all its security horrors.

Ethereum adopted the former approach by allowing users to embed subprotocols on the Ethereum blockchain as smart contracts. Cardano supports this feature through the CCL paradigm. But what about custom extensions?

An elucidating example would be a cryptocurrency trader. Imagine a decentralized marketplace, called DM, that supports a set of different cryptocurrencies. A trader wants to automate his strategies acting on DM.

In a fragmented ecosystem, the trader would have to install dozens of clients for each cryptocurrency and then write custom software to talk to each client in order to coordinate automated trades. If one client updates, then it could break the bespoke software. Furthermore, what if the trader wants to sell the software?

Inspired from the web model of extensions, if the interface to various cryptocurrencies can be pulled into a web stack, then the trader’s task becomes dramatically easier. A universal interface can be established. Installation is one click. Distribution of software can be modeled after the Chrome web store.

For Cardano, we have decided to experiment with this paradigm by deploying our reference wallet’s front end on Electron. It is an open source project maintained by Github that combines both Node and Chrome together. Cardano’s build of Electron is called Daedalus.

The first generation of Daedalus27 will act as an HD wallet with support for many of the expected accounting and security features that are industry standards, such as spending passwords and BIP39. In later generations Daedalus will develop into an application framework with a store, universal integration APIs and an SDK.

The key innovations are ease of development by allowing programmers to use JavaScript, HTML5 and CSS3 to build their applications and a unified bridge for cross application communication. Complex behavior such as cryptography, managing a distributed network and database mechanics can be abstracted away thereby letting the developer focus solely on user experience and their application’s core logic.

As Daedalus is intended to be a universal framework, its roadmap and evolution is somewhat independent of Cardano’s. During 2017 they are tightly coupled, but later Cardano will be just another application for a Daedalus user. We also intend on exploring extremely unique features such as a universal key management service running solely in Intel SGX.

Ultimately, as protocol designers, we cannot support all needs. Our hope is that the flexibility that Daedalus will provide combined with stateful smart contracts running on CCL will satisfy those left out by our design decisions. We also hope that better standards can emerge to encourage all cryptocurrencies to enjoy better interoperability and security.


Footnotes

25: For digital ledgers on the other hand, proof of reserve has been proposed as a clever way of keeping cryptocurrency only exchanges honest.

26: These rates even impact the creation of content itself. See this interest story on how Rotten Tomatoes has impacted the movie industry.

27: Which is already available at daedaluswallet.io.