虚假二分法

由于监管往往可以说是反覆无常且奥秘的,人们可以隐喻地推测一个贪污的优雅故事环节,而检举者们寻求正义。监管是法律执法者的工具包。但是如同所有的工具一样,它们可能是粗糙的、陈旧的或者简单地被滥用。

加密货币并未改变人类的状况或故事环节。尽管有最佳的意图,但仍然总是有诈骗、不良行为和可怕的结局。虽然加密货币可以消除人们的判断,但它无法消除人们的行为。

一个加密或弊的设计师,他必须对为监管机构提供什么样的工具包来纠正这些不良事件。加密货币面临的独特挑战在于它们是监管和货币失败的产物28

在文化上,许多加密货币认为政府行为是腐败的、不称职的或是无效的。所以它们无法尊重、有耐心或者愿意为一个监管机构或者一个律师提供一个特殊的后门来纠正这些错误。该行为,将导致所有加密货币的目的被可憎。

另一方面,计数交易失败和历史事件,比特币的百分之十以上已经从2009年1月3日开始,丢失或被盗。截至2017年6月30日,失去或被盗的价值超过 40亿美元。而这个数字还并未没有说明比特币和其他令牌对于诈骗和不良布局的ICO所造成的损失。

那么可以指明就是隐私问题。在宏观上,价值流经监管的专业渠道、丰富元数据,并得到执法机关、政府和国际监管机构的积极监督。这是一个很好理解的游戏,遗漏只会发生在现金方面,随着世界向数字货币的转移,金钱的遗漏则逐渐减少29

如果加密货币不存在,这个范例似乎成为越来越把财物隐私视为社交媒体内容的世界。没有人,而人们也不能选择退出。因此,我们有一个困境产生了一个明显的二分法。

一个加密设计师可以将原则和产出屈服于其本地管辖权对其代码的任何要求,从而损害用户的隐私和完整性。或者他可以采取更有原则的、但是是无政府主义的,该与现行最佳实践和法律脱节的哲学。

对于卡尔达诺而言,我们觉得这种故事是由于缺乏想象力而带来的虚假二分法。实际情况是大多数用户并不关心市场规则。他们通常关心的是规则的突然变化,以使一位或多位参与者受益。他们担心缺乏透明性,让某特定人士获得特权。

我们需要区分个人和市场的权利。鉴于加密货币具有全球影响力,权利需要尽可能以用户为导向。

隐私应该是合理的,并且是在用户的控管下,而不是守门员。价值流动应该是无限制的。未经过同意,价值不得突然被没收。

从市场的角度来看,市场对于数据的使用需要透明化,如何处理资金,并且每个人都需要通过相同的规则来执行。此外,一旦用户同意,那么用户不能因为自己的不便而突然改变主意。对方也需要确定性。

但是,人们该究竟如何从抽象移转到实际系统上呢?实践是怎么样?而法律又应该是什么样?我们将解决方案分为三类:元数据、认证与合规性,以及市场分散应用机构(DAOs’: Decentralized Autonomous Organizations)。

元数据

某些东西的行为与围绕它的元数据相比之下,通常是比较无趣的。例如,从丹佛驾驶到博尔德是一种行为。驶着法拉利488,用平均每小时120英哩的速度从丹佛驾驶到博尔德是元数据。当然,这意味着与用平均每小时30英哩的速度驾驶丰田普锐斯,拥有着不同的体验。

金融交易没有什么不同。经济学家、税务机关、执法机构、企业和其他实体对他们的背景尤其重要。令人遗憾的是,对于我们目前的基于法定的系统中,大多数消费者从来没有看过他们的交易的元数据有多丰富,或者这些元数据与谁分享了30

对于卡尔达诺而言,我们承认用户可能需要或依据法律要求,与某些参与者(如税务机关)分享交易的元数据。但是我们认为这种共享必须得到用户的同意。

我们也区块链系统具有庞大的力量,通过提供可审计性、时间戳和不变性来消除欺诈、浪费和滥用。因此,一些元数据应该被发布到卡尔达诺区块链上。

它非常难找到一个正确的平衡,让该平衡不会谴责我们的区块链大幅膨胀。鉴于这一问题,我们选择了一个务实的做法。

首先,代达罗斯将在未来的12个月内,支援大量的功能来标注交易和金融活动。这些元数据可以根据用户认为是必需的需求,进而导出或共享。此外,数据可以由三方应用程序操作,用于域特定目的(例如税务会计)。

其次,我们正在探索添加对可涵盖散列和加密字段的特殊地址的支援。这种结构将允许用户在我们的区块链上发布元数据,而不需公开揭示它。但是,如果她想要共享数据,那么它将具有交易享有的所有可审计性、不可变性和时间戳保证。

我们已经部署了一个包含属性领域的地址结构。它目前被用于存储为快速钱包恢复的分层确定性钱包之树结构的加密副本(参阅分层确定性钱包文档)。之后的版本将推广这个结构。

认证与合规性

与交易密切相关的主题是交易权和资金所有权。例如,虽然可能有足够的资金购买某物(例如酒品),但也有条件可能会限制其购买(如年龄要求)。

资金的所有权和来源通常是了解你的客户的规定。当银行或交易所的货币服务业务为新客户开立账户时,通常需要收集有关客户的基本情况以及获得资金的来源。

技术面的挑战是,在提交这种法律要求的信息过程中,发送信息的用户不能保证该信息将如何被使用、存储以及是否将被销毁。合规信息具有商业价值。在规定允许的情况下,可能发生身份盗用或信息转售。

对于卡尔达诺而言,我们希望尽可能地进行创新。在协议的软件方面,几乎接收方于合规信息中提供在行为范围内的行为保证。然而,在协议的硬件方面,使用可信硬件,可以利用英特尔SGX和其他的HSM来执行某些策略。

因此,我们正在探索使用密封玻璃证明以及分享政策,以便将合规信息安全传输给验证者,而该验证者又被迫遵守其传输的政策。我们认为,双方统一的标准可能会出现,而且这种方法可以通过防止黑客入侵所遗失的客户数据来降低验证者的风险。

为该努力的推论,我们为卡尔达诺从计算分离得到的价值之分层模型,也可以从这种方法中获益。如果计算层由受监管的实体(如交易所或赌场)运行,那么他们需要进行合规性的检查,并可能对用户实施税收政策。

使用统计生成程序(SGPs: Statistics Generation Programs) ,用户可依照个人身份信息发送资金,而不用担心它会泄漏到更广泛的互联网中,或者被计算层的共识节点保留。此外,计算层将确定所有用户的交易都被认证且是合法的。

这种范式还允许受管制实体之间的客户携带性。交易所可以通过这些安全渠道立即转移客户的余额和账户,并且 - 在政策允许的情况下,与监管机构共享数据。

我们预计这项技术的第一次beta测试将在2018年中期进行,目的是依据该研究成果,在2018年底至2019年初期间将卡尔达诺集成。该时间表还含括与ARM和Intel合作的能力,以便获得在其硬件上运行的代码31

市场分散应用机构

前两节介绍了假设存在一些外部系统的信息的产生和移动。为了确保传统的互操作性,这些功能将始终是必需的,但它们并未确立基于区块链的规则。

智能合约能够实现一种全新的商业系统,其关系是确定性的、自我执行的和无歧义的。反过来,它们可以用来制定市场规则,包括任意复杂的结构,如仲裁、事件驱使退款,以及给予特殊条件事实的揭示。

我们称这些智能合同执行结构市场分散应用机构。它们不需要特殊的协议支持,也不需要嵌入在分类帐中的可变性。事实上,它们可以使用相互依存的智能合同的集合以完全构建。

建筑概念是设计从合约法和商业最佳实践灵感的商业模式的集合。这些模板可以连接到开发人员的智能合约中,以便在市场上执行特定的标准。

例如,假设开发者希望在卡尔达诺计算层上发布ERC20令牌来进行众筹。市场分散应用机构可专门为众筹设立,其条款和条件参数化,甚至由志愿者或法律标准执行。诸如退款、重新分配资金或冻结付款等事项可以在开发商的ERC20合约中被继承。

这一努力使我们能够对于如何控制市场进行宏观的讨论,以确保消费者保护。第二,我们可以讨论如何建模交易,以自动确保特定司法辖区(如新罕布什尔州)的法律保护和权利。

于卡尔达诺基金会、IOHK和其它实体等的合作之下,卡尔达诺项目将建造市场分散应用机构的参考文库,以供智能合约开发人使用。我们的期许是,保险和监管市场可以围绕这些分散应用机构而形成,并且将根据其成果进行自我演变。


28: 事实上,当Satoshi嵌入比特币创世区块时,2009年3月份的纽约时报揭开了此标题:为了银行次要紧急援助边缘的总理

29: 读者应考虑阅读David Wolman的“金钱结束”的复印版本,其中包括国际走向金钱消失的行动。

30: 在更宏观的规模上,作者Juan Zarate写道,美国财政部如何在财政战争中使用这些数据于恐怖主义战争。它提供了一个全面观,检视全球金融市场的现有结构如何被使用于地缘政治目标。

31: 请参阅英特尔SGX 商业许可证策略

The False Dichotomy

As mercurial and arcane as regulation can often be, one can metaphorically infer an elegant narrative loop of the corrupt and their prosecutors seeking justice. Regulations are the toolkit of the lawbringer. But like all tools, they might be crude, old or simply misused.

Cryptocurrencies have not changed the human condition or the narrative loop. There will always be scams, bad actors and terrible outcomes despite the best of intentions. While cryptocurrencies can remove human judgement, they cannot remove human behavior.

A cryptocurrency designer has to take a position on what toolkit he will offer the regulator to correct bad events. The unique challenge cryptocurrencies face is that they are a product of regulatory and monetary failure28.

Culturally, many in cryptocurrencies consider government action to be corrupt, inept or ineffective. Therefore, they have little respect, patience or desire to endorse a special backdoor for a regulator or lawman to right wrongs. This act would be anathema to the entire purpose of cryptocurrencies.

On the other hand, counting exchange failures and historic events, more than 10 percent of Bitcoin has been lost or stolen since the protocol started on January 3rd, 2009. As of June 30th, 2017, the value lost or stolen comes to a little over $4 billion. And this figure does not account for Bitcoin and other tokens lost to scams and poorly formed ICOs.

Then there is the issue of privacy. On a macro scale, value flows through specialized channels that are regulated, rich in metadata and actively monitored by law enforcement, governments and international regulators. It is a well understood game with leakage occurring only on the cash side of affairs, which has been gradually diminishing as the world moves to digital money29.

The paradigm if cryptocurrencies did not exist would seem to be a world that increasingly treats financial privacy like social media content. There is none and one cannot opt out. Hence we have a dilemma yielding an apparent dichotomy.

A cryptocurrency designer can surrender principles and yield to whatever demands their local jurisdiction places upon their code, thereby compromising the privacy and integrity of their users. Or he can adopt a more principled, but anarchistic, philosophy that divorces itself from current best practices and laws.

For Cardano, we feel this narrative is a false dichotomy brought on by a lack of imagination. The reality is that most users are not concerned about rules existing for markets. They are usually concerned about sudden changes in the rules to benefit one or more actors. They are worried about a lack of transparency over who gets special privileges.

We need to distinguish between individual and market rights. Given that cryptocurrencies have a global reach, rights needs to be as user oriented as possible.

Privacy should be reasonable and at the user’s control, not a gatekeeper. The flow of value should be unrestricted. Value should not be subject to sudden forfeiture without consent.

From a market perspective, the marketplace needs to be transparent about the use of data, how funds will be handled within and everyone needs to play by the same set of rules. Furthermore, once the user has consented, then they cannot suddenly change their mind due to inconvenience. Counterparties need certainty as well.

But how exactly does one move from the abstract to an actual system? What should something practical and legal look like? We have broken our solution into three categories: metadata, authentication and compliance as well as marketplace DAOs.

Metadata

The act of something can often be less interesting than the metadata surrounding it. For example, driving from Denver to Boulder is an act. Driving from Denver to Boulder in a Ferrari 488 at an average of 120 MPH is metadata. Certainly this infers a different experience than in a Toyota Prius at an average of 30 MPH.

Financial transactions are no different. The context surrounding them is extraordinarily important to economists, tax authorities, law enforcement, businesses and other entities. Sadly in our current fiat based system, most consumers never see how rich in metadata their transactions are or who they are shared with30.

For Cardano, we acknowledge that users could need or are legally required to share transactional metadata with certain actors like tax authorities. But we believe this sharing has to be at the user’s consent.

We also believe that blockchain systems have tremendous power to eliminate fraud, waste and abuse by providing auditability, timestamping and immutability. Thus some metadata should be posted to the Cardano blockchain.

The hard part is finding a correct balance that does not condemn our blockchain to substantial bloat. Given this concern, we have chosen a pragmatic approach.

First, Daedalus will support over the next 12 months a large array of features to label transactions and financial activity. These metadata can be exported and shared on demand with whoever the user deems necessary. Furthermore, the data can be operated on by three party applications for domain specific purposes (for example, tax accounting).

Second, we are exploring adding support for special addresses that can include hashes and encrypted fields. This structure would permit a user to post metadata on our blockchain without publicly revealing it. But if she wants to share the data, it would carry all the auditability, immutability and timestamp surety that a transaction enjoys.

We have already deployed an address structure that contains an attribute field. It is currently being used to store an encrypted copy of HD wallet trees structure for fast wallet recovery (see HD Wallet documentation). Later versions will generalize this construction.

Authentication and Compliance

Closely connected to transactions are the topics of the right to make transactions and the ownership of funds. For example, while there might be sufficient funds to buy something (for example alcohol), there could be restrictions on its purchase (age requirements).

Ownership and origin of funds are typically providence of know your customer regulations. When a money service business like a bank or exchange opens an account for a new customer, it is usually required to collect basic facts about the customer and where he acquired his funds from.

The technological challenge is that in the process of submitting this legally required information, the user sending it has no guarantee how it will be used, stored and if it will ever be destroyed. Compliance information is commercially valuable. It could be stolen for identity theft or resold where regulations permit.

For Cardano, we want to innovate as much as possible. On the software side of protocols, there is little to provide a guarantee that the receiver of compliance information will behave within a scope of conduct. However, on the hardware side of protocols, using trusted hardware, one can leverage Intel SGX and other HSMs to enforce certain policies.

Thus we are exploring using Sealed Glass Proofs alongside a sharing policy to permit the safe transmission of compliance information to a verifier who in turn is forced to comply with the policies it was transmitted under. We believe that both uniform standards could emerge and also that this method will reduce risk to verifiers by preventing the loss of customer data from hackers.

As a corollary to this effort, the layered model we propose for Cardano separating value from computation also can benefit from this approach. If the computation layer is run by regulated entities (say exchanges or casinos), then they would need to conduct compliance checks and potentially enforce tax policy on users.

Using SGPs, the user can send funds alongside personally identifiable information without concern that it will leak into the broader internet or be preserved by the consensus nodes of the computation layer. Furthermore, the computation layer would gain certainty that all users transacting are authenticated and legitimate.

This paradigm also allows for customer portability between regulated entities. Exchanges could transfer balances and accounts for customers instantly through these safe channels and also — where policies permit — share data with regulators.

We expect our first beta test of this technology to be conducted in mid-2018 with an aim towards Cardano integration in late-2018 to early 2019 pending research results. This timeline also assumes the ability to collaborate with ARM and Intel in order to get code signed to run on their hardware31.

Marketplace DAOs

The two previous sections covered the generation and movement of information assuming the existence of some external system. To ensure legacy interoperability, these features will always be necessary, but they do not address blockchain based regulation.

Smart contracts enable a completely new kind of commercial system where relationships are deterministic, self-enforcing and free of ambiguity. They can in turn be used to create rules for marketplaces including arbitrarily complex structures such as arbitration, event driven refunds, and revelation of facts given special conditions.

We call these smart contract enforced structures Marketplace DAOs. They do not require special protocol support nor mutability to be embedded in the ledger. In fact, they can be totally constructed using a collection of interdependent smart contracts.

The architectural concept is to design a collection of commercial templates inspired from contract law and business best practices. These templates can be wired into a developer’s smart contract to enforce specific standards upon the marketplace.

For example, say a developer wants to issue an ERC20 token on CCL to conduct a crowdsale. A Marketplace DAO could be established specifically for crowdsales and its terms and conditions parameterized or even enforced by volunteer or legal standards. Things such as refunds, reallocation of funds or freezing of payment could be inherited in the developer’s ERC20 contract.

This effort allows us to have a macro discussion about how a marketplace should be controlled in order to ensure consumer protection. Second, we can discuss how to model transactions in a way to automatically ensure legal protection and rights within specific jurisdictions, such as New Hampshire.

Working with the Cardano Foundation, IOHK and other entities, the Cardano project will create a reference library of Marketplace DAOs for smart contract developers to use. Our hope is that insurance and regulatory markets can form around these DAOs and that they will be self-evolving based upon outcomes.


Footnotes

28: In fact Satoshi embedded in the Bitcoin Genesis Block the following headline taken from The Times: The Times 03/Jan/2009 Chancellor on brink of second bailout for banks.

29: The reader should consider picking up a copy of David Wolman’s The End of Money. It covers the international movement towards cash disappearing.

30: On a more macro scale, author Juan Zarate writes about how this data is used by the US Treasury Department in the war on terrorism in Treasury’s War. It provides a comprehensive view into how the current structure of global financial markets can be used for geopolitical ends.

31: See Intel SGX Commercial License Policy.