沉浸于加密货币领域中产生许多概念上的矛盾。加密货币被设计成难以改变的,但如同所有技术一样,他们需要改变以解决设计缺陷和进步。区块链旨在防止集中化,但需要强大的参与者来引导变化或维护代码。

也许最令人沮丧的经历是,出现了大多数利益相关者都同意需要纠正的明显缺陷,但是在前进道路上,却并未出现共识。

比特币的区块大小争议现在已经是长达两年多的活跃问题。每日超过10亿美元的交易总额等待着,因为网络已达到其容量的高峰。

如果改变一个简单的参数 - 即使在临时解决方案的存在下- 其还是无法被协调的,那么企业和政府如何能够安心地在这些系统上投资数十亿美元,以建设基础设施呢?对于这个问题,任何企业如何赌注于无责任协议中的整合战略风险,而且这些协议又无法进行理性的设计升级?

回顾历史,互联网的演进也遵循了类似的模式,甚至是简单的改变,例如从IPv4IPv6的过渡需要几十年才终于实现。然而,区块链技术和互联网之间存在强烈的对比,因为它们遵循非常不同的监护方式。

互联网是一个军事项目,从DARPA发展成为具有强大政府支持和一套明确定义的初始监护的学术界。互联网在非商业条件下成长,没有企业阴谋影响企图垄断网络。事实上,电子商务违反了NSF AUP,直至1992年将NSF AUP废除之前

当企业拥有互联网商业化的光芒,早已有一套强大的标准、原则和传福音的信徒。这并没有阻止像美国在线和微软这样的公司,试图建造墙壁花园并创建像ActiveX这样的专有技术。谷歌基于其庞大的用户基础和资本,这个地基并没有阻止像Google这样的下一代参与者推出自己的议程

通过一大群寻求租金的参与者32,从贸易商到矿工,加密货币是最终商业动机的生态系统。鉴于此基础,加密货币的监护管进化以藉由利己主义被优化。

例如,无效采矿开始更频繁地发生,因为它提高了矿工的利润率,但这完全无视采矿的整体目的和效用。集中化采矿已经发生,只有少数参与者控制了比特币的绝大分散列能力。

像互联网一样,加密货币需要共识来改变。但是,如果这种迅速集中权利发生在少数经纪人身上,那么当改变带给这些少数人不方便的时候,会发生什么呢?

与互联网不同,大多数加密货币的诱发不是通过无私的非商业或学术手段完成的。从一开始,一些集团力求获益,并且有权经纪人被分配来帮助确保这些获益。

资金集中化是每个密码学必须面对其演变的现实。我们不能完全逃避它,但至少应该设法逐步地分散集权。

对于卡尔达诺来说,我们仔细考虑了促进集权的因素,以及可以采用哪些技术来鼓励我们的协议逐渐成为像网络般的公共基础设施。

我们完全承认,全面分散化是不可能的,也许甚至适得其反。然而,某些因素可以被鼓励,来制定一个更加平衡的系统。

首先,群众资金的集中管理能够在初期灵活且快速地发展协议,但最终资金多样化,发展速度需要更系统化和更深思熟虑的步伐。接着,资金需要避免文化、语言和地理的偏见。

第二,随着社区越来越了解密码学技术的基本特性,也因此对于路线图的决策,无法集中在一组核心开发人员或基金会上。需要使用基于区块链的方法来提案、审查和颁布协议的更改。

第三,维护卡尔达诺结算层区块链的动机必须与所有用户的整体愿望直接相符。我们不允许一群具有独立意愿的大行社区的特殊参与者出现。

对于第一个原则,我们选择将财政系统整合到卡尔达诺。第二,我们将通过卡尔达诺结算层本身协调的系统,部署一个正式的过程来提出卡尔达诺的改进建议。第三,我们相信乌洛波洛斯提供了一个优雅的解决方案。

可以对上述主题提供更多细节,但是它们本身是广泛的,并且超出了调查文件的范围。机制设计是最复杂的,和相互依赖的学术领域之一,其理论不完整,而且没有坚实的规范模式。

相反地​​,我们在第二部分描述的科学驱使方法在这里为我们提供了良好的模式。 IOHK的Veritas团队正在与兰开斯特大学的一组研究人员合作,在Bingsheng Zhang教授的指导下开发卡尔达诺的参考财政模型。为了在2018年进行整合,我们预计到2017年底将有一份专门的同行评审刊物。

对于一个加密货币协议的修改的正式描述和审查,这个主题是最不被理解的,因为它需要本体论概念,和激励广泛参与的机制。也许某种形式的代议制民主过程可能出现,或使用液态反馈来提供更合理的投票。

我们预期这方面的研究将占有IOHK大部分正式参与卡尔达诺的开发33 。作为一个起点,我们将在参考财政模型的基础上,部署几种机制来获得认可。需要进一步研究才能确定解决方案。

最后,正由牛津大学的Elias Koutsoupias教授监督,进行为乌洛波洛斯提高激励措施的工作。在所有必要的可扩展性工作之结束后,乌洛波洛斯的加密基础得以巩固。将会进行对参考协议,增加对债券、惩罚和异国激励措施的更广泛研究。


32: 有关这一术语的更多信息,请参阅这里

33: IOHK将在2020年底之前保持建造卡尔达诺

An immersion into the cryptocurrency area yields many conceptual contradictions. Cryptocurrencies are designed to be difficult to change, but, like all technology, they need to change to address design flaws and advancements. Blockchains are intended to prevent centralization, yet require strong actors to lead changes or maintain the code.

Perhaps the most frustrating experience comes when there are clear deficiencies that most stakeholders agree need to be corrected, yet consensus cannot emerge on the path forwards.

Bitcoin’s block size debate has now been an active issue for more than two years. Daily, transactions totalling over a billion dollars are pending because the network is at peak capacity.

If changing a simple parameter — even in the presence of temporary solutions — cannot be coordinated, then how can enterprises and governments feel comfortable investing billions of dollars into building infrastructure on top of these systems? For that matter, how can any business gamble on the strategic risk of integrating accountability-free protocols that cannot make rational design upgrades?

Looking back into history, the evolution of the internet has followed a similar pattern with even simple changes like the transition from IPv4 to IPv6 taking decades to realize. Yet there is a strong contrast between blockchain technology and the internet in that they follow a very different style of custodianship.

The internet was a military project that grew out of DARPA into academic circles with strong government backing and a well-defined set of initial custodians. The internet grew under non-commercial conditions without the machinations of corporate influence attempting to monopolize the network. In fact, e-commerce violated the NSF AUP until it was repealed in 1992.

By the time businesses had the luxury of commercializing the internet, there was already a strong set of standards, principles and evangelistic adherents. This did not stop companies like AOL and Microsoft from trying to build wall gardens and creating proprietary technology like ActiveX. This foundation has not stopped next generation actors such as Google from pushing their own agendas given their enormous user bases and capitalizations.

With swarms of rent seeking32 actors from traders to miners, cryptocurrencies are the ultimate commercially motivated ecosystems. Given this foundation, evolution of the custodianship of cryptocurrencies has resulted in optimization around self-interest.

For example, validationless mining is starting to occur more frequently as it improves a miner’s profit margin, yet this completely disregards the entire purpose and utility of mining. Mining centralization has already occurred with just a handful of actors in control of the majority of Bitcoin’s hash power.

Like the internet, cryptocurrencies require consensus to change. But when such rapid centralization of power to a handful of brokers occurs, what happens when change is not convenient to them?

Unlike the internet, the bootstrapping of most cryptocurrencies is not done through altruistically non-commercial or academic means. From inception, some group seeks to make gains and there are power brokers assigned to help ensure those gains.

Founding centralization is a reality that each cryptocurrency must face in its evolution. We cannot fully escape it, but should at least try to design around gradual decentralization.

For Cardano, we thought carefully about what factors promote centralization and what techniques could be applied to encourage our protocol to gradually become public infrastructure like the web.

We fully admit that total decentralization is both impossible and perhaps even counterproductive. Yet certain factors can be encouraged to produce a more balanced system.

First, while centralized custodianship of crowdsale funds allows for agile and rapid development of the protocol during the early days, eventually funding has to diversify and the speed of development needs to retire to a more systematic and deliberate pace. Following this point, funding needs to avoid cultural, linguistic and geographic bias.

Second, as the community becomes more informed about the underlying nature of the cryptocurrency’s technology, decisions about the roadmap cannot be centralized to a set of core developers or foundation. There needs to be a blockchain based method for proposing, vetting, and enacting changes to the protocol.

Third, the incentives behind maintaining the Cardano SL blockchain have to be directly aligned with the aggregate desires of all users. We cannot permit a cabal of specialized actors to emerge who are independent of the will of the greater community.

For the first principle, we have chosen to integrate a treasury system into Cardano. For the second, we will deploy a formal process to propose Cardano Improvement Proposals through a system coordinated by CSL itself. For the third, we believe Ouroboros provides an elegant solution.

More detail could be provided on the above topics, but they are extensive in their own right and beyond the scope of a survey paper. Mechanism design is one of the most intricate and interdependent academic fields with incomplete theory and no solid canonical model to stand on.

Rather our science driven approach described in section two serves us well here. IOHK’s Veritas team is working in partnership with a group of researchers from Lancaster University under the direction of Professor Bingsheng Zhang to develop Cardano’s reference treasury model. With the aim of integration in 2018, we expect a dedicated peer reviewed publication by the end of 2017.

For formal description and vetting of changes to a cryptocurrency protocol, this topic is the least understood as it requires both ontological notions as well as a mechanism to incentivize broad participation. Perhaps some form of representative democratic process could emerge or use of liquid feedback to provide more rational voting.

We expect research in this direction to consume most of IOHK’s formal involvement in the development of Cardano33. As a starting point, we will deploy alongside the reference treasury model several mechanisms to capture consent. Further study is required for a definitive solution.

Finally, work to improve incentives for Ouroboros is being supervised by Professor Elias Koutsoupias of the University of Oxford. After the cryptographic foundations of Ouroboros are solidified alongside all required scalability work, a broader study of bonds, penalties and exotic incentives will be added to the reference protocol.


Footnotes

32: See here for more information on this term.

33: IOHK is retained to build Cardano until the end of 2020.